Bizhack Kenya

Think Once.Think Twice.Think Business.

List of Elected MPs in Nyeri County

ByBizhack Editorial

Apr 13, 2023
List of Elected MPs in Nyeri County

Last updated on July 8th, 2023 at 07:54 pm

In this list of Elected Members of Parliament (MPs) in Nyeri County. We have gathered the information from reliable sources to provide you with an up to date and accurate list of elected Members of Parliament (MPs) in Nyeri County and their respective constituencies and the party they represent based on general election of 2022.

A constituency in Kenya is a geographic area represented by an elected Members of Parliament (MPs) in the National Assembly. There are 290 constituencies in Kenya, each with an average population of around 160,000 people.

Through this list of elected members of parliament in Nyeri County. You will be able to learn more about the current office holders, their respective parties and constituencies they represent.

Without further ado here is a list of elected Members of Parliament (MPs) in Nyeri County

Geoffrey Wandeto MwangiTetu United Democratic Alliance (UDA)
Antony Njoroge WainainaKieniUnited Democratic Alliance (UDA)
Erick Mwangi KahuguMathiraUnited Democratic Alliance (UDA)
Michael Wambugu WainainaOthayaUnited Democratic Alliance (UDA)
Kaguchia John Philip MukurweiniUnited Democratic Alliance (UDA)
Duncan Maina MathengeNyeri townUnited Democratic Alliance (UDA)

Members of Parliament Salaries in Kenya

The Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) recently issued a gazette notice in July 28, 2022 stating that Members of Parliament (MPs) earns a monthly salary of Ksh 710,000, including basic pay of Ksh 426,000, a house allowance of Ksh 150,000, and a market adjustment of Ksh 134,000.

Basic Salary Ksh. 426, 000
House Allowance Ksh. 150,000
Market Adjustment Ksh. 134,00
Commuter Allowance Official
Total Salary Ksh. 710,000

As an elected member of Parliament in Kenya, some of the functions include:

  1. Representing their constituents in parliament
  2. Debating and voting on legislation
  3. Oversight of government activities
  4. Allocation of resources and development projects
  5. Engaging in constituency development through the Constituency Development Fund
  6. Constituency representation in government programs and policies
  7. Attending and participating in parliamentary committee meetings
  8. Responding to constituent needs and concerns
  9. Advocating for the interests of their constituents
  10. Engaging in public outreach and communication with their constituents.

Also Read: List of Nyeri County Ministers and their Ministries