List of Sub Counties in Nairobi County and Main Activities

ByElizabeth Atieno

Mar 5, 2023
List of Sub Counties in Nairobi County

Nairobi County is one of the 47 counties in Kenya and is located in the southeastern part of the country. It is the capital and largest city in Kenya and serves as the economic, cultural, and political hub of the country. Nairobi County is further divided into sub-counties for administrative purposes. In this blog post, we will provide you with a comprehensive list of the sub-counties in Nairobi County.

A sub-county is a territorial administrative unit that is used in some countries, particularly in Africa, to divide a county or district into smaller administrative divisions. A sub-county is usually smaller than a county and may consist of several parishes or villages.

In some countries, such as Kenya and Uganda, sub-counties are part of the administrative structure of the country and are responsible for delivering basic public services to the local communities, such as healthcare, education, and infrastructure development. In other countries, such as Ghana and Nigeria, sub-counties may be used for electoral purposes or as a way of organizing local government.

List of Sub Counties in Nairobi County

Sub County NameMain Activities
WestlandsShopping, Entertainment, Corporate Offices
Dagoretti NorthAgriculture, Education, Healthcare
Dagoretti SouthEducation, Healthcare, Small-scale businesses
LangataEducation, Tourism, Agriculture
KibraInformal settlements, Small-scale businesses
RoysambuResidential Area, Shopping
KasaraniSports, Education, Residential Area
RuarakaIndustrial Area, Healthcare
Embakasi SouthResidential Area, Transportation, Small-scale businesses
Embakasi NorthResidential Area, Transportation, Education
Embakasi CentralResidential Area, Small-scale businesses, Transportation
Embakasi EastResidential Area, Agriculture, Small-scale businesses
Embakasi WestResidential Area, Industrial Area
MakadaraSmall-scale businesses, Residential Area
KamukunjiInformal settlements, Small-scale businesses, Wholesale Markets
StareheGovernment Institutions, Small-scale businesses

In conclusion, Nairobi County comprises of several sub-counties that play a significant role in the governance and development of the county.

List of sub-counties in Nairobi County include Dagoretti North, Dagoretti South, Embakasi Central, Embakasi East, Embakasi North, Embakasi South, Embakasi West, Kamukunji, Kasarani, Kibra, Langata, Makadara, Mathare, Roysambu, Ruaraka, and Starehe.

These sub-counties have their unique features, including demographics, economic activities, and infrastructure development. The county government of Nairobi is responsible for ensuring that each sub-county is adequately served and receives equal development opportunities. Hence, through effective leadership and proper allocation of resources, Nairobi County can continue to grow and develop sustainably, benefiting all its residents.


List of Sub Counties in Mombasa county